Safety Award


The CBAA National Safety Awards Program was inaugurated in 1981 to recognize outstanding achievements by members in maintaining a high standard of professionalism and safety in their business aircraft operations.


This year, certifications will again be awarded to those members who have demonstrated accident-free records of operation and who qualify in accordance with the attached rules, for the following awards:

  1. Pilot awards for the highest number of total accumulated hours;
  2. Company awards for the highest number of total accumulated hours;
  3. Pilot awards for the highest number of hours logged during the year;
  4. Company awards for the highest number of hours logged during the year;
  5. Pilot Safety Award;
  6. Company Business Flying Award; and
  7. Company Maintenance Department Safety Award (all aircraft maintenance departments who qualify for a Company Business Flying Award).

Holders of previous CBAA Safety Awards which are expressed in miles may use the following conversion (MPH) figures for their type of aircraft, to obtain total past and present hours flown. Divide any one of the following numbers, as appropriate, into miles, to get hours.

  • Jet - 480
  • Twin Piston - 210
  • Helicopter Turbine - 135
  • Turboprop - 305
  • Single Engine - 145
  • Helicopter Piston - 80


Applications should be submit to Rachel Duchesneau by e-mail at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it by April 30, 2014 and will be awarded at CBAA 2014 in Edmonton on June 17-19.


Pilor Safety Award Application Form
Filesize 62.89 KB

Company & Maintenance Safety Award Application Form
Filesize 63.11 KB



  1. Applicants must be an employee of a member company of CBAA and be properly licensed and certified.
  2. Annual business flying hours flown by aircraft that are owned or leased and the direct responsibility of, and under operational control of, the applicant will be considered.
  3. Applications must be verified by a company officer, aviation department manager, or chief pilot, as the current supervisory officer of the applicant.
  4. Awards will be made for consecutive accident-free hours. Therefore, only those hours flown since a disqualifying accident will be counted.
  5. Initial pilot safety and company awards will be for the period: from the beginning of the applicant’s flying time to December 31 of the past year. Subsequent annual awards will cover the period January 1 to December 31 and future years’ business flying time. (All pilot accident-free time flown in all aircraft, whether or not they were business flying hours, may be counted towards the initial Pilot Safety Award.)

Pilot Safety Award

  1. Awards will be granted to pilots of CBAA member companies who have completed 1,500 or more consecutive accident-free hours flown while in command of business aircraft. Successive awards will be made at 1,500 hour intervals.
  2. Co-pilots may submit all the time they are actually at the controls, or one-half of their flying time when approved by the Chief Pilot.
  3. Those pilots who have dual qualifications may elect to count their helicopter time toward the Fixed Wing Pilot Award but any hours claimed may not be counted twice.
  4. Flight time which can be substantiated by certified flight logs and/or company records should be used in calculations.

Company Business Flying Safety Award

  1. This award is granted to CBAA member companies which have completed 1,500 or more accident-free consecutive hours flown in the operation of business aircraft. Successive rewards will be made at 1,500 hour intervals.
  2. Flying time for all pilots, no matter how great or small, can be counted towards the Company Awards.

Company Maintenance Department  Safety Award

  1. This award will be granted to the Aircraft Maintenance Engineering (AME) Department of CBAA member Companies who have qualified for the Company Business Flying Safety Award. The company must have an operating maintenance department, headed by a full-time properly licensed and certificated AME operating in active support of flight operations.

An ACCIDENT is defined in accordance with the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) as:

“... any aviation occurrence when, at any time during the period commencing when the first person boards an aircraft for the purpose of flight and ending when the last person disembarks from the aircraft after the flight:

  1. A person, other than a stowaway, sustains a serious injury or fatal injury, that is not self-inflicted or inflicted by another person or caused by natural causes, as a result of that person:
  • Being in the aircraft,
  • Coming into direct contact with any part of the aircraft, including any part that may have become detached from the aircraft, or
  • Being directly exposed to the jet blast of the aircraft,
  1. The aircraft sustains damage or structural failure adversely affecting the structural strength, performance or flight characteristics of the aircraft and normally requiring major repair or replacement of any affected component part, other than damage or failure that is limited to:
  • The engine, its cowlings, or its accessories,
  • The propellers, wing tips, antennae, tires, brakes or fairings, or
  • Small dents or puncture holes in the aircraft skin, or
  1. The aircraft is missing or is completely inaccessible.”
Membership :: Awards :: Safety Awards


Join the Canadian Business Aviation Association (CBAA) today!


Canadian Business Aviation Association

955 Green Valley Crescent, Suite 155
Ottawa, Ontario, K2C 3V4

Tel: (613) 236-5611